top of page

Dinosaur

Welcome to Tacata's blog. This is where I'll put up random stuff I like; maybe you'll like it, too.

The gentleman in the picture is Mr. Mensa Kondo, a former student of mine who is an unbelievably talented and up-and-coming artist out of Washington D.C. I first met Mensa when he was a 13-year-old kid who loved Napoleon Dynamite and had a passion for anything anime, manga, or comic. Now, he's a 22-year-old man on the rise in the Philly/DC/New York art scene and the most ridiculously raw and talented artist I know... Man, he's come a long way :)

Mensa stayed with us in South City for a few weeks back in July and to my delight, agreed to paint the wicked "Grafitti: It's In Your Blood" piece that hangs in the back of our classroom. The piece took him about 23 hours and every second of it screams "RAAAWWWWRRRRRRR!!! I'M BAAAADDDDD!!!" I'm so, so glad that his spirit is "a part of my classroom" again and that I can share that passion with you.

Enjoy,

T

"[Grafitti] it's very honest. It's very, very loud... as loud as a billboard. That's probably why it's illegal: only people who have money are allowed to make billboards." -M. Kondo

Tags:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page